I’m Student Musician of the Week!

OK, so it’s not quite the front cover of Rolling Stone, but today I was lucky enough to be named the Huffington Post’s “student musician of the week”. They did a little interview and asked a few questions about my influences and interests. One question that I found really interesting to think about was: “if you could play / sing with anyone, who would it be?”

My response was:

“It would be incredible to play alongside Gillian Welch and Dave Rawlings, though maybe I’d feel like I was intruding on something that was kind of perfect already. I imagine it would be a lot of fun to play with someone like Hugh Masekela, and I’d also love to somehow borrow Ludovico Einaudi for an afternoon and write some songs with him. Maybe all of them together.”

Since then, I keep thinking about other people or groups I’d like to add to the list, people like Jerry Garcia from the Grateful Dead, Laura Marling and Old Crow Medicine Show, who I imagine must just be great fun.

Anyway, you can read the full interview on their site here, so do check it out if it’s of interest. And while you’re here, why not join in the debate? Who would YOU love to have in your dream band? Who did I forget to mention? Drop me a message or leave a comment, it would be great to hear from you.

Lewis

Leave a Reply

